Mileham Castle is a medieval motte and bailey castle. It is almost unique in its construction : the keep (substantial parts of the masonry of which survive) was built first, with the motte then built around it. Topographical variation across the site also gives rise to a diverse flora, including patches of chalk grassland and wetland plant communities. From the summit of the motte views across the mid-Norfolk countryside can be enjoyed. It is understood that the site is open to he public.
Mileham Castle is one of the largest motte and bailey castles in Norfolk. It straddles the B1145, a pre-Conquest road that remained the main east-west route through the county until the 17th century. The castle was constructed in about 1100 and its remains form a surprisingly imposing monument consisting of a motte built up around the fragments of a stone keep, two baileys and a further banked rectangular enclosure to the north of the road, which now contains Burwood Hall (built in 1793) and farm buildings. A large wooded deer park was once attached to the south of the castle. The positioning of the castle astride the road is thought to have been connected with raising revenue from a possible market place in the northern enclosure and from tolls on travellers.
It is probable that the castle had fallen out of use by about 1300, but before then the tall keep, probably whitewashed, when seen against the green wooded backdrop of the deer park, would have been an impressive sight.